LightKey for Windows PC

Lightkey is a text prediction software that adapts to your typing style and offers tailored predictions. Early adopters claim that this nifty piece of software has helped them save 40% of the time while typing. Lightkey supports MS Office and Google Chrome (Gmail, WhatsApp Web, Yahoo! Mail and Outlook Mail.) on Windows 10. Windows 8.1 and Windows 7. Initially I dismissed Lightkey as just another key expander, however, there is more to it than that.

AI powered predictive keyboard

Downloading and setting up Lightkey is pretty simple. After downloading the app walks you through a series of settings that lets you customize preferences. Surprisingly, Lightkey also asked about my hobbies and interests. Needless to say, I chose tech and “Focusing on the screen while typing.” as my Typing Style. Initially, I felt that LightKey is a waste of time. It took me a while to get hold of the tool. Once I got a hang, things started to look up from there. My typing speed usually ranges from 50-60 words per minute. However, with LightKey it increased to 80-100 words per minute.

The learning curve

I have been writing about technology for more than six years. My typing speed is faster than the usual. Perhaps, it is for this reason that I felt Lightkey be counterintuitive at the beginning. I did some digging and found a useful setting. I headed over to the settings and shifted the slider to the extreme right. This meant that Lightkey will offer suggestions only when there is a high probability of a match. I ended up saving a considerable amount of time with limited suggestions. What’s best is that the suggestions appear even before you complete the words. I also wish LightKey could let me configure the selection key. When asked, the folks at LightKey said it is due to fact that Tab key results in minimum false positives and minimum interference with users typing.

Privacy and Security

One of the main concern most of us might have is security. LightKey assures that it does not store any of your keystrokes or any other private content. It is digitally signed by GlobalSign and you can also use a standalone offline version for Business needs.

Verdict

LightKey has some proverbial chinks in its armor. That apart, it is one of the most futuristic and innovative typing tool that I have come across. I noticed that LightKey started getting better and learned my preferences after prolonged usage. The spell checker is a bonus and this keeps you on track and helps avoid typos. Yes, LightKey might not be as accurate as you would want it to be. But for an average Typists, the tool is a boon. It most definitely helps you save time while typing and after a while, you might actually enjoy using LightKey. You can download LightKey from the homepage. The Basic edition is free.